Hands of the Sea and Sky

Hands of the Sea and Sky

“GABRIEL SKINNED FOR THE HANDS OF THE SEA AND SKY”
MIXED MEDIA ON BOARD
29 x 54 in © 1992 GABRIEL NAVAR

I had so much fun with this painting. It is one of my early favorites. I enjoyed doing all of the overlapping imagery, textures, and glazing. Furthermore, I had fun with creating a visually busy interaction of forms, complementary colors and metaphorical turbulence. Oh, by the way, I used fluorescent and phosphorescent paints…. therefore, the painting (like many others I have created over the years) glows in the dark!

Gabriel Navar

4 thoughts on “Hands of the Sea and Sky

    • Hi and thank you Laura…. I also enjoy this piece because it was fun to create it… I used acrylics, silicone, color pencils, oil paint and “glow-in-the-dark” and fluorescent acrylic media…. The initial inspiration and “take-off” point was the chores of hanging clothing out to dry on the string line… everything else was based on my vivid imagination… I was a young kid when I painted it and had much creative energy… I hope I do not lose it…. greetings to you from California…. Gabriel (http://gabrielnavar.com)

Leave a Reply

